Share Your World Challenge

image

Every week, Cee’s Photography posts 4 questions for us to answer and share in an effort to get to know one another better.  Here are my responses for the questions from 22 September.  (Cee posts new questions on Mondays, I think.)

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

A long time ago when I was into reading about pagan worship, there was a link to a quiz to determine which pagan “tree sign” you are affiliated with.  I took it, and the result was a rowan tree.  When I looked up rowans (they don’t grow where I live), it turns out they are really cool trees that symbolize protection.  Here’s an example of what people write about it: http://www.treesforlife.org.uk/forest/mythfolk/rowan.html

However, since I have never seen a rowan, I would also like to pick a tree that I know, and that would be a dogwood tree:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cornus_florida  These grow in the area where I live and produce an abundance of white or pink flowers in spring.  They are gorgeous!  There was one outside our front window in an apartment in a different city, and I loved to watch it change through the seasons.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?

One kind person whose blog I read said she would have the person rest for an hour, since their job is so tough.  That’s a great and selfless idea, which makes me feel a little bad for actually asking for something, but oh well.  I really would like the visitor to vacuum and change the sheets on the bed.  Those are two things that always improve my mood, and strangely, I don’t do them as frequently as I should.

If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get?

First idea:  chocolate.  Dark chocolate, YUM.  Second idea:  Kefir.  It sustains me, can’t recommend it enough.  Third idea:  Peanut butter, which also sustains me.  It’s good for regulating blood sugar, too!

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

I worked in an office at the community college I attended.  I learned so much from the people there!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful that the class I’m teaching went well (it doesn’t always).  I’m always grateful for Elrond Hubby and the kitties, and always look forward to our life together.  Other than that, I pretty much dread the work week.  Maybe we will go hiking next weekend, so that’s something to look forward to!

4 thoughts on “Share Your World Challenge

    1. In looking around for something similar, I found two sites that offer a tree horoscope-type graphic. They did not agree on which tree I am, so I still stayed with rowan because I like it.:) Neither is a quiz, unfortunately, but here they are:
      This tumblr page provides one view: http://www.tumblr.com/search/celtic%20tree%20astrology
      And this one provides the one I followed for the post: http://www.panoramio.com/photo/16385533
      Enjoy! I love trees, too. Especially in the winter, when you can kind of see their “true” forms, like their personalities.

What do you think?

