Ladies!..(And Gents) Is This Harassment?

I commented on this over at The Journal, but I think the post merits reblogging for both the original video and the range of comments.

This woman walked through the streets of NYC for 10 hours to document what most women have to put up with whilst going about their business. Ladies, we’ve all been there right?

So School Me!

I’ve had this in many countries around the world…in different ways.

In Africa you get catcalls but mostly unblinking stares from one end of the street to the other. In London, similar to the video but slightly more restrained. In Scandinavia, polite questions. In Paris, stares and a few cat calls – but not a lot. NYC has to be the loudest and most opinionated about one’s shape, butt and what they would like to do with you as in the video and in LA you get stopped so men can tell you their resume and about the ads they’ve appeared in! (I’m only partly joking!)

Now I’m a pretty down to earth gal…

View original post 219 more words

One thought on “Ladies!..(And Gents) Is This Harassment?

  1. Very much so a form of harassment–no one should be passing me in the street and telling me I need to smile, or asking for my personal information. I don’t know them, and they are just trying to initiate a conversation for the purpose ‘getting to know me’–for the purpose of a relationship, or more likely, sex. Passing me in the street is not an invitation to get to know me. I don’t know you, and you don’t know me. Let’s keep it that way.

    And our only response is to try to get away, set our bitch face, or acknowledge them–all of which can lead to danger if they get ‘offended’ by our response or our refusal to response.

    Street harassment is not a ‘compliment’. It is a way to objectify the woman and make her self-conscious about her appearance in an attempt to seduce (albeit in a clumsy and immature way).

What do you think?

